Reappointment of Panel Members [26/02/2004] The Takeovers Panel

Thursday, 26 February 2004


The Panel welcomed the announcement by the Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer, the Hon Ross Cameron MP, of the reappointment of members to the Takeovers Panel.

The President of the Panel, Mr. Simon McKeon, welcomed the reappointments and said that the Panel’s success is due largely to the time and expertise contributed by its members, who are busy and distinguished professionals.

Mr. McKeon expressed his gratitude to those members of the Panel whose terms were finishing, each of whom had made a substantial contribution to the Panel during their terms, by sitting on matters and by taking part in the development of policy.

He said that the intention of some Panel members to stand aside at the expiry of their current appointments and the appointments made to the Panel over the last year had prompted a review of the makeup of the Panel’s membership. Both he and Mr. Cameron are concerned to ensure that all members of the Panel are able to sit on sufficient matters each year to maintain an appropriate level of involvement in Panel activities and, in particular, consistency of decision-making.

Mr. McKeon said that the Panel’s success had depended heavily on the skills and abilities of the senior professionals and business leaders who had given their time to the Panel. He said he had been very pleased by the commitment of the Panel’s members to make the Panel’s peer review model work in Australia’s corporate environment.

George Durbridge
Director, Takeovers Panel
Level 47 Nauru House
80 Collins Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
Ph: +61 3 9655 3553

Panel Members Reappointed

Each of the following members has been reappointed. There were no new appointments.

Justice Robert Austin

Carol Buys

Kathleen Farrell

David Gonski OA

Teresa Handicott

Braddon Jolley

Alison Lansley

Irene Lee

Kevin McCann

Marie McDonald

Robyn Pak-Poy

Chris Photakis

Justice Kim Santow OAM