Appointment of Panel Members [26/02/2010] The Takeovers Panel

PDF icon PDF 85KB

Friday, 26 February 2010

Appointment of Panel Members

The Takeovers Panel welcomes the recent announcement by the Minister for Financial Services, Superannuation and Corporate Law of the reappointment of 11 members and the appointment of 10 new members to the Panel, for a term of 3 years commencing 8 March 2010.

The President of the Panel, Mr Simon McKeon, said that the Panel's success is due largely to the time and expertise contributed by busy and distinguished professionals.

"As we celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Panel in its current form, it is important that we recognise that the Panel's success is due largely to the skills, input and support of very capable and committed members", Mr McKeon said.

"My thanks go to those members of the Panel whose terms are ending. Each of them has made a significant contribution to the Panel by making it a priority, in their busy schedules, to sit on matters and assist in the development of policy."

Mr McKeon added: "In the last 10 years we have decided over 300 applications, and dealt with novel issues. In doing so, we have freed up considerable court time. Takeovers regulation in Australia is at the forefront of international best practice."

The Panel now has 54 members, all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis. Details of the appointments and reappointments are attached.

Allan Bulman
Director, Takeovers Panel
Level 10, 63 Exhibition Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
Ph: +61 3 9655 3597


Panel Members Reappointed

Each of the following members has been reappointed:

Mr Guy Alexander
Mr Tom Bathurst QC
Mr Garry Besson
Mr Graham Bradley AM
Ms Catherine Brenner
Mr Geoff Brunsdon
Mr Byron Koster
Mr Rodd Levy
Mr Norman O'Bryan AM SC
Mr Robert Sultan
Mr Anthony Sweetman

New Appointments

The following new members were also appointed:

Mr Ewen Crouch, Sydney

Mr Crouch is Chairman of Partners and Co-Head of Mergers and Acquisitions and Capital Markets at Allens Arthur Robinson. He was named Australian Dealmaker of the Year at the 2006 ALB Australasian Law Awards.

Mr Peter Day, Melbourne

Mr Day is a non executive director of Ansell and SAI Global and Chairman of Centro Retail Trust and Orbital Corporation. He was previously Chief Financial Officer for Amcor, Director of Finance for Bonlac Foods and Deputy Chairman of ASIC.

Mr James Dickson, Adelaide

Mr Dickson is a partner at Piper Alderman who has had significant experience in corporate transactions, corporate governance, funds management and securities law.

Ms Sarah Dulhunty, Sydney

Ms Dulhunty is a partner of Blake Dawson specialising in mergers and acquisitions and equity capital markets. She is a board member of Blake Dawson, member of the Corporations Committee of the Law Council of Australia and the AICD Law Committee.

Mr David Friedlander, Sydney

Mr Friedlander is a Mergers & Acquisitions and Securities Partner at Mallesons Stephen Jaques. He is a member of the ASX Capital Markets Advisory Panel, the Corporations Committee of the Law Council of Australia and the AICD Law Committee.

Mr Rod Halstead, Sydney

Mr Halstead is a partner and National Chair of the Mergers and Acquisitions Group at Clayton Utz. He has more than 25 years' experience advising major corporations in relation to the structuring and execution of contested and negotiated takeovers, acquisitions, mergers and divestments.

Dr Nora L Scheinkestel, Melbourne

Dr Scheinkestel is an experienced company director having served as a non-executive chairman and director of companies in a wide range of industry sectors and in the public, government and private spheres. She is currently director of AMP Limited and its wholly owned subsidiaries, AMP Capital Group and AMP Bank Limited, Orica Limited and Pacific Brands Limited. Dr Scheinkestel is also an Associate Professor at the Melbourne Business School at Melbourne University.

Ms Jane Sheridan, Melbourne

Ms Sheridan is a partner at Arnold Bloch Leibler where she practices commercial and corporate law, with a particular focus on public company and insolvency matters.

Mr Laurie Shervington, Perth

Mr Shervington is Special Counsel at Minter Ellison. He is a member of the Regional Liaison Committee and the Corporate Finance Liaison Committee of ASIC in Perth.

Mr Shervington is currently Chairman of Cooper Energy Limited and director of Leedal Pty Ltd and the College of Law Western Australia Pty Ltd.

Ms Alison Watkins, Melbourne

Ms Watkins is Chief Executive Officer of the Bennelong Group. She is a non-executive director of Woolworths Limited and the Australian and New Zealand Banking Group.

Ms Watkins is a non-executive director of the National Board and Victorian President of the AICD.

New Panel Alumni

The following members' terms will finish on 8 March 2010

Ms Kathleen Farrell
Ms Teresa Handicott
Mr Braddon Jolley
Ms Alison Lansley
Ms Irene Lee
Mr Kevin McCann AM
Ms Marie McDonald

Mrs Nerolie Withnall retires with the appointment of the new Panel members.